Sunday, Jan. 30, 2005

More snow, please, posted at 10:39 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tomorrow would be a perfect day for a snow day. It would prevent my A day students from getting ahead of my B day students, would normalize everything before the three professional days at the end of the week, and would allow me to finish my grading.

Alas, it's supposed to stop snowing by midnight. Still, you never know... I still can't believe we had a snow day on that Monday a bit ago (and that was a supremely annoying time to have one), so we might have one again.

I'm off to do my run and complete a triceps-shoulders-legs workout. Hopefully I'll be nice and sore by the time I get back.

Work last night was... alright. Mentally, I'm sort of done with the job. Or maybe I'm just out of practice because I'm not working that much.Things just aren't flowing as naturally as they once were. I'm still deciding whether to quit when I start coaching again on March 1. My mood there in the next few weeks will determine what I do.

Even with feeling a little out of it, last night I got that good feeling I get when things are busy and I always need to be doing something. The downstairs heaters were broke, so a lot of people wanted to sit upstairs in my section. When I'm busy, I have to prioritize in my head what to do - water that guy, check on their food, roll silverware, present their check, etc. It's like teaching when it gets like that, when you have to decide in your head what's best to address right away, what's best to ignore until later, or just what's best to ignore altogether. The difference is that with waiting tables you do get the feeling that you're "done," when you complete your shift. You don't get that done-with-your-work feeling teaching, ever, except at the end of the school year. There's always something to be done. Luckily, I'm able to successfully suppress my guilt complex and just do what needs to be done for the next day.

Well, I made about $90 last night. Not too shabby. I'm almost caught up with all my bills for a brief moment, so I'm hoping to run out and buy a treadmill by the middle of February. I would not be lugging my ass out to the White Marsh Bally's on a snowy Sunday morning if I had a treadmill in my living room right now.