Thursday, Jan. 27, 2005

End of the week jitters, posted at 5:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Still really busy, grades are due tomorrow and I have 60 midterms, 100 essays and textmarked copies of the Odyssey still to grade. I've taken to coming home, napping, then heading out to Barnes & Noble to run through some marathon grading. Last night, I graded for a few hours, then ran three miles and had a quick, tough legs and triceps workout, and stayed until I literally was asked to leave at Bally's because I had stayed past their closing at 11pm.

Today, though, I also have to fit in a thorough cleaning of the house in preparation of the house concert tomorrow night. Plus, my friend Josh is having a "Brew and Stew" party which, I guess, entails beer and soup. I want to go for the lone purpose of promoting my house concert tomorrow.

Oh, and if you really want to piss me off on a house concert night, send this e-mail to me and a bunch of mutual friends:

Hi! It's almost Friday and I'm so ready for the weekend. I handed in the first 15 pages of my thesis...Anyone want to celebrate?! How about we meet about 7 near the Charles Street entrance to the Cross Street market? Promise it won't be a late night...

Doesn't she know the only place in Baltimore to be on a Friday night house concert night is the house concert establishment? Some people. Even City Paper is advertising it. Heck, it's even been mentioned on WTMD. Unfortunately, I'm worried only ten people are going to show up and I'll be the scorn of the house concert community because I can't even draw for Patti Rothberg, who was on Leno and Letterman and had a hit single.

I'm just anxious. But also exhausted. Today my baseball players had their first optional workout. We had to do it in the basement because it's so motherfucking cold outside. No one caught us, thankfully.

Anyhow, you should come, and bring a friend.

Speaking of which, I'll end with a rant: Why in the hell did I move down here to the south if it's going to be this ridiculously cold? I might as well be in Michigan. I hate winter. I hate the cold. I hate snow unless it involves snow days. I hate that my commute is so short that my car never warms up on the way there. I hate that my toilet seat is always cold. Grrrr.