Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005

Snow day, posted at 2:25 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Wow, this snow is something else.

I was so looking forward to my Saturday morning routine of Trader Joes and Bally's that I did it despite the snow, which had already dusted the area with about an inch of snow by the time I left at 10:30. The workout was great, and Trader Joe's was, too, of course, but the ride home was unbelievable. Snow driving does not faze me, as I'm from Michigan and am pretty good at it, but there were a few times when I was going uphill when I got stuck for a few minutes and only changing into reverse or second gear helped get me out. By the time I returned home, my car smelled like burnt rubber from all the spinning out I had done on the road, but I made it back just fine.

The sucky thing is that I have to work at the restaurant tonight. I called already and foreshadowed that I might not be able to make it, but I'd feel bad, as I already called in sick once this week and haven't had a shift there in exactly two weeks time. Plus, well, I sort of miss them all. I still might find myself stuck here rather than risk a drive down to Fell's Point, but I haven't decided yet.

I wore a winter coat, hat, and... shorts today. I usually wear shorts when I go to the gym, because I don't like to deal with the changing twice - I like to just jump on a machine once I get in there and go. I got a few second glances, that's for sure. One lady at Trader Joe's told me that my upper half looked like it was here in Baltimore but my lower half was in Florida somewhere. I didn't regret my clothing choice until that moment. I'd rather blend in than defend. I just don't get it - you're only outside for about thirty second, why wear pants if what you most need on for the trip is shorts?

Anyhow, the snow is still coming down and I'm thinking more and more that I don't want to risk my life to make $20 waiting tables tonight.