Friday, Jan. 21, 2005

Yup, another Friday night in Baltimore obsessing over reclusive old ladies, posted at 7:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am fascinated with Harper Lee.

I'm here (alone on a Friday night, with Hotel Rwanda unseen) planning my To Kill a Mockingbird unit, and I find this page. On that page, if you don't want to look, they actually have a phone message Lee left to a class in 2001. They're not sure if it's real or fake, but think it's real because no one knew about the invitation they had sent her. And then, on there's a very interesting account of how Harper Lee lives today in Monroeville, AL.

It makes me want to jump on a plane and see if I could catch a glimpse of her. Not that I'd know what she'd look like. I just want to buy her breakfast or something.

I'm really excited about teaching Mockingbird again. All first semester, I've done nothing but teach books I've never taught before (with the exception of A Lesson Before Dying, and I was only on time #2 with that one). It's nice to fall back into a book that I've read at least six or seven times, that I know so well so I know on what pages most of the key quotations or entrances of minor characters occur. I'm redoing all of my handouts - again - because I want to teach it just a little bit differently this year.

I'm excited.