Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005

Ennui, posted at 10:13 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This is my second weekend night in a row sitting at my computer screen, lesson planning. I'm really excited about my To Kill a Mockingbird unit. However, tonight I'd be out doing something if I weren't snowed in. I did call the restaurant and tell them I didn't want to drive in, and they said that was fine, but that still means I've had zero social interaction since returning from New York City. Last night, I didn't feel like heading to a bar after a week with the flu would be very smart, so I didn't. I hoped to go to the movies, but that slipped through my fingers. I was sort of willing one of my friends to call me to go, but I don't really have any movie buddies here in Baltimore, at least since I rarely see PK anymore now that she's moved down south to Federal Hill. And I acquiesced to a night at home alone, completing activities for the first five days of my Mockingbird unit.

Tonight, I didn't have much choice, because I certainly wasn't driving anywhere. I watched Young Frankenstein, listened to August and Everything After, read a story from Drinking Coffee Elsewhere, and have now returned to the pull of the computer screen. No one seems to be on tonight, which is bizarre - what else is there to do tonight? My Detroit Tigers forum is inactive, a rarity, and while there have been a handful of blog updates, there hasn't been many.

I guess most people watch movies at a time like this. I suppose it is time to figure out how to work my DVD player. The Wire is begging to be watched. Season #2 is available for pre-order now, so I'm hoping to have Season #1 finished as soon as possible. It's just so much easier to watch DVDs when I'm back home at my family's house, not having to worry about wires and boxes, and having a recliner to sit on rather than my bed, positioned up to the TV.

I also guess most people wouldn't stoop to writing an entry quite this mundane.

I also guess that most people wouldn't spend their Saturday nights playing dressup with their dog:

(Truth be told, this picture is from Christmas. The suit was a gift from my mom. Holden will be wearing it at future house concerts, though.)

The official house concert e-mail went out today. If you'd like it, e-mail me. I'd love to have you come.