Saturday, Jan. 01, 2005

Happy New Years dammit, posted at 11:05 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I made less than half of what I made last year at New Years - around $120. That sucks, and I let everyone know how much it sucked with my surly attitude. I refused a trip with co-workers to the secret all-night Polish disco Baltimore has from December through March, and went home and fell asleep right away. $120 is just not enough money to rush from home to work for. I was counting on the near-$300 I got last year. Maybe I'll do better tonight.

One table of four (and I only had eleven covers last night) tipped me $45 on their $360 bill, then told the owner what a great server I had been. I guess they figured that verbal tips help to pay the bills.

I hope that was the last New Years I'm ever working.

I tried to locate the source of my bad mood much of the evening. I usually can overcome moodiness when I isolate the cause and ignore it. I couldn't do that last night. I wonder if I'm just that sick and tired of working at the restaurant that even having a week off isn't a cure. I don't know.

Hopefully I'll have a big, silly, too-revealing reflective piece up about the New Year, complete with 2004 retrospectives and 2005 goals and shit like that by the end of the day or the weekend. I have the day off tomorrow - my first Sunday off in ages - so I have some time on my side right now.