Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Renaissance man, posted at 10:57 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A classy renaissance kind of guy is one who can go from his wiffleball game at 6pm (lost 6-1, but I went 2-for-4 and struck out two in my one inning on the hill) and head over to Center Stage for a performance of Oscar Wilde's Lady's Windermere Fan, and change from his wiffleball uniform into a shirt and tie while standing on the sidewalk at Madison and St. Paul. No one noticed. Thank god. I was wearing boxers at one point.

The play was good. Funny. I was sitting by a really fat woman who was too big to allow me to sit with my back to the back of the chair, so I had to lean. I felt bad for her. I'm a bit of a lean-forwarder anyway, but I like the option of putting my back back if I need to. I have broad shoulders as well, so her fat arms didn't yield any room. Poor woman.

It was only my 2nd or 3rd play since moving to Baltimore. I like theater, but I'm not huge on it I guess. Plus, I just don't get out enough, don't take advantage of this city enough. That's one of my resolutions this year. Some friends offered to get me in on their buying of season tickets for Center Stage. It was just $60 for 6 shows, all on Wednesday nights, so I did it. This was show #1. I don't really know the other plays too well, but one of them is Two Gentleman in Verona, which I think has things to do with Romeo and Juliet so that should be good. Plus there's an Arthur Miller play, and I really liked The Crucible and Death of a Salesman.

Buying the season tickets at the Center Stage made me want to do it at the Everyman Theater as well. And I'm going to, at the end of the week. I asked, um, a pretty girl who I sort of like to get the tickets with me. She had made a passing comment at work about going to theater shows alone last year, and I think that was a little hint, and I think I've missed pretty much all of her hints, so I finally called and asked her. So, no, I don't just ask someone out for dinner or coffee. I ask them to purchase season tickets for $90 with me. It probably means nothing, and I'm probably going to be way too cautious and not make any moves unless it's blatantly obvious that she's interested (tongue down throat, showing up naked, something like that), but it's at least a start. She's really funny and cute. She also very well might just think of me as a big brother type. At work, she used to call me Superman because I saved a little girl's life this summer when an umbrella almost crashed into her head. Her mom wrote that I was cute in the guestbook at the restaurant, with hearts. Sometimes I think I might miss water if I fell out of a boat. Or maybe they were all just innocent fun. And maybe her comment that her mom really wants her to date me was something that you tell someone who is more of a big brother, friend type.

Anyhow, she said yes. We're going.

Other news:

Went house shopping yesterday. Fun. Saw one house in the $90K range, one house in the $70K range, and one in the $50K range. All between Lakeside and Waverly. It starts... but I don't think it's going to have a finish anytime soon.

Tomorrow, a student teacher will be in my room. Only four years ago, I was that guy.