Sunday, Sept. 26, 2004

Starts of promising, then gets whiny, posted at 8:46 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I'm now officially looking for one, probably two, roommates. City Paper ad this next week. If anyone knows anyone, let me know. I live in NE baltimore, on the same street as the mayor, near Lauraville and Lake Montebello, about ten minutes from both downtown to the south and Towson to the north. Rent is $300. The house has three bedrooms, two kitchens, two bathrooms, a yard, a basement, and plenty of storage space.
*
My whiffleball schedule came late, after the deadline for the restaurant's schedule. Of course, I was scheduled to work the night of my first game. Drats. A new manager has been hired so this will probably be my last MOD shift for a while, which will be disappointing, but it still sucks that I'll miss the first game of the season. I had the option of switching with Polish girl for Thursday night, but I'd rather make the happy hour. Although, there's still a chance I'll want to see the Presidential debate live. (I appreciate Seadragon's offer to tape it, but it seems like a sporting event type of thing - there's just no substitute for seeing it live.) Maybe I can do both somehow. Or maybe I'll just forget its importance in a swirl of dark and stormy's.
*
I've been trying desperately to get into some shows for the fall season, because I think watching TV at night will be a symbol that my life is balanced and not just spinning out of control. I also always scrimp on the ab workout at the gym because I figure I can do it when I watch TV. Then I never watch TV. I've heard good things about Lost, and then I forgot to watch it. I'm now watching that Christine Lahti show where one of her kids becomes president. I guess I'm not really watching, though, since I'm journaling. I also "watched" that new Dean Cain show with the batboy today. From what I saw while putting away laundry, it was heavy handed but I could get into it.
*
I'm pretty sure the match.com girl has given up, since I haven't had a free night in three weeks and keep postponing our date. It's all in good faith on my part, but I can understand hesitation. That's okay. I'm telling myself that my schedule will even itself out once the school year evens itself out. And I'm doing some fun things during those nights - a happy hour here, a whiffleball game there - so I'm not feeling as stressed out as last year. Hearing the news that I couldn't play our first game tomorrow night was sort of a bummer, though.
*
My biological clock is ticking loudly right now. All the guys around me at work are having kids. I am ready. I feel like Marissa Tomei's character in My Cousin Vinny when she's stomping on the porch. That's a movie I should own. I think I'm going to head over and add it to my Friendster profile as one of my favorite movies.
But, since I can't seem to commit to a city, or to buying a house, what makes me think I can commit to someone else right now? When will my life settle down enough to figure this out? Why does it seem so damn easy for everyone else? Why don't I just pick up the phone and tell M. that I've been thinking a lot about her lately and would like to have dinner sometime, if her schedule at her second job and kickball ever intersects with my schedule at my second job and whiffleball? Because every other sign I've read from her is a negative, and I'm paying more attention to the negatives and not to the positives.
I had a good weekend. Made $86 on Saturday night, $84 for Sunday brunch today. I'm getting back on track after that hellish Saturday. Unfortunately, I had to use $20 of the money to buy a new alarm clock today, because my old one finally died.