Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004

House concert a success, posted at 12:10 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

After all of my worries about getting the house clean amidst crappy shifts at the restaurant (so crappy, in fact, that the owner bought me breakfast today, which is unheard of), the house concert went really well. The crowd - consisting of half Doria Robert's fans, and half my friends - was the perfect size. A Fool's Fate, of the latter category, was there. Marcia and Brenden made a surprise appearance halfway through and it was great to see them. Other great friends were there. Life was good.

Doria's performance wasn't as captivating as it was last time I saw her, but I think the technical difficulties and her cold did her in a bit. I still got goosebumps when she sang "Perfect" (Mine very well could be the first straight wedding to use that as the first dance song... god, just please let me find some woman who likes her some good lesbian music) and she did some cool effect things with the equipment, when it did work. A song called "What's the matter" really grabbed me.

It makes me feel really good that this performer tonight walked away with $300 or so and she didn't have to deal with any club owners or anything like that. It's just about the music. It makes me feel good to be part of something like that. She hugged me afterwards and thanked me, and I could tell it was genuine.

Here are a couple pictures. She really is a beautiful woman.

Next show is Sat, Oct. 23, Baltimore, with Lori Amey. I'm much more worried about the crowd for that one. Mark your calendars.