Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004

The choice, posted at 5:47 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

There comes a time in a man's life when he's forced to choose between two dueling sides. Make a choice and stay consistent with the decision, regardless of the cognitive dissonance or inner conflict it might conjure. Today, I had both sides laid in front of me and grappled with the choie: should I buy Sweat or Suit?

I chose Sweat, and, so far, the car ride home made me happy I did. However, I've gotta hear that Tim McGraw duet, because that just sounds too wacked out to even be possible.

I also got Jill Scott's new album. After working nonstop this weekend at the restaurant - rested only by my house concert, which wasn't exactly relaxing - I needed to reward myself at Soundgarden. I'm glad I did.

Today was a good day. I actually got a full night of sleep last night after the house concert, and the seven hours of shut-eye propelled me through my shift. And, I was made Manager of the Day today. After 14 months working at this restaurant, I've finally been given a promotion. On MoD shifts, I'll make $4.50 instead of $2.38 an hour, and get to eat a meal for free. I also get to sign checks and decide if a bitchy customer gets a free dessert or not. I hope that I can handle the power. Seriously, though, it's pretty cool. It's always nice to know that you're doing a good job and have that rewarded, and I am a damn fine waiter. It's just like teaching in a way - you're teaching the customers about the menu, selling your material, keeping everyone satisfied, checking on people all the time (classroom management). And, while I'm no pro waiter (I've gotten by on the wine knowledge not by knowing our list well at all, but by knowing 4 or 5 wines really well. And, even then, I tell anecdotes about them more than anything else - "Yeah, this wine here our owner let us have at our holiday party. It was then and there that I decided it was my favorite wine we carry." That's Rutherford Hill Merlot, by the way), I am really attentive and friendly with the tables, mostly because I believe in the restaurant I'm at and enjoy the owners. Plus, I just like talking to people.

Well, it's back to Nelly and to the gym.