Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004

Long day, house concert tomorrow, posted at 1:36 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I left the house at 6am today and just returned at 1am. I made $30 working at the restaurant as bartender. The dishwasher made more than I. I work tomorrow at 8am, it's 1:37am right now, and I still need to clean my house and get ready for my house concert tomorrow.

I don't know how I get myself into these messes sometimes, but I've got to stop because tomorrow should be a really fun day and it's not because I'm obligated to be at a restaurant for 9 hours while I make, if I'm lucky, $40.

If it rains tomorrow, we might get a crowd, so I guess I'll hope for that and hope for something to keep my mind off how tired I'm going to be.

The house concert should be fun, though. First of the season #3. I actually have a fair number of reservations, and, while I'm still on pins and needles about things, I think the crowd will be good. She has a fairly big fan base, and my house will be full of lesbians, folk music fans, and my friends tomorrow. Some in all three categories at once. My friend Rose today told me today - and she's great, she and I can go to a bar and she'll say, "God, I want that bartender," and I'll say, "I was just thinking the same thing" - that her partner asked her who was playing and she replied, "Oh, some lesbian folk singer," and her partner surmised that I was part lesbian myself. I told Rose that we share some similar interests, I guess.

I don't know why it is, actually. I tend to gravitate towards singer/songwriters, though, and there are a lot of lesbians doing that right now. I'm not as into bands, although I'm really into a few (Weezer, Counting Crows, Old 97s, A Tribe Called Quest); I'm more into soloists that expose their soul a bit in their songs. Whether it's John Mayer (who I liked way before anyone had ever heard of him) or Mos Def or Melissa Ferrick, it's the same thing. Plus, I think one of the basic tenants of my life is that the best art transcends culture, gender, race, age, and geography, and I'm drawn to these universal truths even (or especially) when they're told by someone different from myself. Or, maybe I just happened upon a free Ferrick show in college and booked her at The Common Grounds and have been hooked ever since. I don't know. I'm fine with it, though. It actually pisses me off a little to hear others categorize these singers and not give them a chance because they're lesibans. To me, Ferrick is as good a performer as Springsteen and would be huge if it weren't for the sexism/homophobia that has been in the music industry since Sarah McLachlan's stupid Lilith Fair ghettoized female singers.

I'm off on a rant that I don't even care that much about. I need to clean. Doria will be disappointed if it's not.