Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2004

Five days and counting until the school year begins, posted at 9:19 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night was a pretty dull night at the restaurant. We had three people come in all night, and all three were associated with the band playing. The dog days of August are upon us, and that sucks because this is this is the time I need money the most. I broke $20, barely. The fact that our manager quit and we're left with more independence did provide us with some more amusement than usual for the night, though. We broke into the wine a bit, and that livened things up. A little.

Luckily, I'm really into Go Tell It On the Mountain right now, and that helped pass the time. Good book. All about redemption and religion and lack thereof, motifs I always connect with, whether it's in Signs or Kanye West songs.

I'm off again right now to the gym, then going to spend the day holed up somewhere (haven't decided where, yet), finishing the book and hopefully beginning the 30-question multiple choice check quiz that I volunteered to write in a moment of weakness. I'm trying to write my syllabi for my two courses, and would like to finish Frankenstein and Lord of the Flies as well before Monday, the day when teachers report, comes. We apparently hired a new principal last week, and I'm getting excited about the new school year but I need to be very well prepared for it or the excitement will dim.

I received my schedule in the mail while I was gone. All good, except I have a class 7th period, which is going to make baseball season awfully tough. Every time we have a game, I'm going to have to get someone to cover my class. Sometimes, for away games, my guys are dismissed at 1:45pm - a good hour and a half before school is dismissed. That is a big burden to put on a colleague. Luckily, my new department head and supervisor is a friend and a baseball fan and will be supportive in covering the class. But it still sucks. I guess they couldn't work out the schedule any other way. On the plus side, my planning periods during periods 2-3-4 will allow me to hang with my colleagues more often than last year.

If I get a lot done today, perhaps I will reward myself with The Manchurian Candidate tonight.