Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004

I'm full of pretty lines, posted at 12:14 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The girl has not called back. The thought of, "What if I dialed the wrong number? After all, it was one of those generic, mechanical voices. It's possible. And wouldn't that be a funny story to tell?" keeps running through my mind, but I can't bring myself to act desperate and call a second time, for I know that she's just the first one since my return to the world of dating after my surgeries and unhappiness. Sure, she was cute and ate her pierogies well and talked about Willie Nelson, but there will be others. I'm almost back to normal. I still have about 15 pounds to lose to get back to last year's fighting weight (it's amazing how quickly I gain weight if I get off the daily exercise routine, which I did during the medical issues), but the workouts have been great lately and the weight is melting off even though I'm still a bit fatter than I'd like to be and I'm finding cardio incredibly boring lately and am thinking about taking up swimming after hearing him talk about it so much. The dorky glasses are gone and, while my eyes are still a bit bloodshot if you look closely at them, I can pass it off that I'm just stoned or really tired, so that's not too bad. In other words, I'm feeling better about myself and that makes me more confident and better at picking up the chicks. Or, at least at thinking about it and getting to the point of intentional paralysis instead of just a cynical "I'm going to die alone living just for my cats and my weekly dinners with mom, and it will be from something stupid and Darwin Award-esque like putting a bomb around my neck, they'll interview my landlady for the media reports and she'll say that I was a nice man, but seemed a bit off sometimes" mood. I'm not there anymore. Now at least I realize that if I get a bomb strapped to my neck and I was a single 54-year old man living with his cats, that at least they'd interview my students or the kids I coach or something. And at least I can ask lesbians out on dates.

Only three more days of school. And they're fun three days. Curriculum revision, hanging out, 90-minute lunches.

Have any Balto folks joined the new YMCA opening at the old Memorial Stadium location? I want to join, but I feel like if I wait I'll get a better deal than they're offering now - something like $450 for the year. It does seem like a really cool facility, though. It's opening August 28. I'm not sure who is going to win the YMCA vs. Giant race that is occurring now on 33rd Street. Which will open first? I've had my money on YMCA for two years now, but that Giant is looking pretty close. Maybe the inside is still in shambles. I've got hope.