Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004

Messes, posted at 9:42 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Weird situation tomorrow night. I'm on the Detroit Tigers mailing list, and have been conversing with people about the Tigers since probably 1996 or so. It's great. There are about 8 guys whose personalities I know well based on their messages. One guy is from London, and I imagine his British accent in his fussy messages. Another guy is a big Republican who has some sort of capital hill job and even has written an important book on campaign finance reform. Another guy is sort of an goofball who writes things like, "Those statistics make as much sense to me as Bjork lyrics" and has actually appeared on The Weakest Link and Jeopardy.

Anyhow, one of these guys, a guy my age whose first name is Tapu happened to have a conference in the area. Sine a few of us live down here, he tried to organize a trip to an Orioles game. I tried my best not to be the organizer, since it's a busy time of year, but it turned out I sort of became it. And, unfortunately, I waited too long (Monday) and the game on Thursday was sold out. And this guy is coming and supposed sleeping on my couch, and I've never met him and there's no game to go to and the house is a sty and I'm not sure what to do because he's down here already and I can't get a hold of him. Weird.

I don't know how I get in these messes sometimes.

Speaking of which, I'm headed to a Korean Karaoke Bar at 10pm on a Wednesday night. More on that later, probably. I have justification. And had a three hour nap today.