Saturday, Jun. 26, 2004

Summer Vacation has started, but they forgot to tell me, posted at 11:35 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The school year ended on Friday, but it doesn't feel like summer vacation yet. I'm working like a madman this weekend at the restaurant - a 4p-1a shift on Friday, and 8-4 both Saturday and Sunday. I'm also working as baurista, which means longer hours and duller work for less money, so I'm not that pleased about that. But, today I finished about 100 pages in Moneyball, which is the first book I've read in far too long that I've actually liked. (School books don't count, and, unfortunately, I don't read too many non-school books.) It feels good to be excited to get back to a book when you put it down.

***

My review for 1.7th Generation is a big thumbs up. It's what you'd expect a Korean karaoke place to be - eclectic, fun, weird in a good way. We stayed until 1am on that Wednesday night and I sang "Joy to the World" and "Dancing in the Dark." It was an impromptu wedding party for the wedding I just attended tonight. Nothing like a wedding to remind you of the intensity of your loneliness. Actually, it was okay. I had thoughts creep into my mind that it was really depressing that I never seem to make progress in between weddings that I go to, that I always tend to be single and without many prospects, but by the end of the night I was feeling good about myself again. It was a nice wedding. The date I had been worried about for so long went very smoothly; my lesbian friend is becoming more than just a lesbian friend - she's just a plain old good friend, with a good ear for listening and a sharp wit. We were asked if we were a couple a few times - mainly by a bug-eyed man at our table whom we dubbed Steve Buscemi - and it's amusing to hear her dance around the followup questions.

***

I feel like I have to break down the end of the year more in my head when I'm lucid and well-rested, without four glasses of wine swimming around my mind and my eyelids heavy. Tomorrow's going to be another long boring day that should net me $30 or so. I made $15 today in my eight-hour shift. Please be kind to your servers, wherever they might be.