Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004

sunroofs, posted at 2:32 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just wanted to clarify that I'm not getting a new sunroof in my car, but I'm repairing the old one that got ruined when the airbags exploded in December of 2002. I'm definitely not the type to get a sunroof installed in my car, and certainly wouldn't have the money for that, but I am ready for the whistle of the noise through the hole in the roof to end and to get it fixed.

Getting a sunroof installed strikes me as elitist, something that someone with money to burn does. I'm just repairing. Rain gets in my car on occasion because the sunroof doesn't seal. I need it repaired.

Yup, I felt the need to explain myself.

***

I recently joined Friendster, in a feeble attempt to be cool. I set up the profile awhile ago and now have 12 friends and a shitload of second and third degree friends, but now I have no idea what to really do with it. I log in every now and then, only to see that it pretty much looks exactly like it did last time I looked, and then I log out.

A co-worker just found me and gave me this testimonial, though. I thought it was amusing:

(Epiphany) is clearly the protagonist of a really great book that will someday be the centerpiece of a high school English curriculum based around the themes of compassion, folk music, and the Detroit Tigers. I can only hope that my character in the book is dynamic, round, and perhaps a foil.

Yup, I'm a ninth grade English teacher.