Monday, Jun. 07, 2004

I feel like today lasted a whole week., posted at 11:30 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

1. I'm not so sure how I feel about the Tigers selecting Justin Verlander with their first pick (#2 overall). Yeah, the guy can almost throw 100mph, but apparently he can't hit water if he fell out of a fucking boat, as Crash Davis would say to Meat in Bull Durham. Plus, he had a 3.49 ERA last year. Shouldn't a #1 draft pick dominate?

2. My sunroof is costing hundreds of dollars more than I expected, but I decided to go with it because I've been waiting 18 months for a sunroof and the summer is here and I've worked my ass off and I can afford it. Don't worry, it's not as much as it probably seems, but certainly more than I expected.

3. I'm without a car until Wednesday afternoon, though. Sucks, but I have a perfect excuse not to be a driver tomorrow when we have our first post-softball game bar trip. I wish tomorrow was Looney's instead of Kisling's, but I can still dig the $1 drafts our league gets

4. I think I'll play third base tomorrow. I'm a little worried, as it will be my first competition on a sports field since the eye surgeries. I'm more freaked out about getting hit in the eyes than anything else.

5. I picked up the New York Post at the gym yesterday, and was shocked to see that Claire Danes and Billy Crudup are now together. Apparently, he left a pregnant Mary Louise Parker to hook up with Danes. I can't imagine a guy being able to choose between Parker, who is sexy as hell on The West Wing, and Danes, who I've had a crush on since I was 14, although not as much since she became a blonde instead of a redhead. I'd still do her, of course.

6. I've decided that in order to fulfill my goals for the summer, I'm going to make a reading schedule for myself. I'll start with Moneyball, but my goals include a lot of other ones that I've just never read but have always wanted to: The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, A Prayer for Owen Meany, a few others. I'd also like to re-read a couple of Baldwin books as well as The Color Purple. If I don't set some standards for myself, I'll spend that time on the internet instead.

Have to go to bed.