Sunday, May. 16, 2004

O's Game, posted at 1:59 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today, I:

1. Made $19 working from 9-3 at the restaurant. I had ten covers and sold $118 worth of food, and made $24.50 before tipout. Shitty day. Saturday Brunch is usually slow, but even moreso with Preakness. I had no tables from 12:30-2:30.

2. The Ori*oles donated 50 tickets to the school and my baseball team to go to the game. I filled 30 of the seats. Cool event - a bus, a hat for each kid, a hotdog and a drink as well. The game was actually pretty good as well. Had a fun night with the kids.

3. When I returned, I had to wait around for all the parents to get their kids. I ended up giving two kids rides home (one prearranged, and one so he wouldn't have to take the city buses). Well, while I was waiting for the parents to come get the other kids, I opened my car doors adn we listened to Kanye West while they got more enjoyment about throwing around a baseball cap than I ever would have imagined. When the rains started and the kids took shelter in my car, I tried to start it, and the batteries were dead. Damn. Three kids and their teacher stranded in a parking lot. This guy was walking around outside and we had no idea why. We locked the door, and one of the jokers said, "I can see the headlines tomorrow: Three students and their teacher gunned down in school parking lot in stalled car." Luckily, Bill came and gave me a jump, and I drove the kids home. One kid lives right around North Avenue and 83, sort of a sketchy area (not Bolton Hill, but across the other way), and he was very concerned about me getting home alright from there and not getting turned around. He also offered to pay me gas money. What nice kids I have. It was a good night.

4. My life is centered around my job, and I'm not sure this is healthy at all.