Sunday, May. 16, 2004

Lulu's, posted at 8:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I worked again, and, afterwards, instead of running some errands and heading to the gym, I went with another waiter to Lulu's Off Broadway, a cool little hole in the wall off Broadway in Fell's Point, only a block from our restaurant. Our Sunday afternoon rituals there hadn't been in play for some time, and it was nice to get back into them. He's a good guy, and I forget that sometimes. Zack. He introduced me to Dark & Stormy's, which is my favorite drink in the world but I only seem to remember when I go to Lulu's. Later, his girlfriend, Colleen, who I'm fond of because she's one of those girls with that cool combination of being dingy and smart at the same time, decided that they would set me up with their friend, because I:

a) have a good job.

b) have a "decent" sense of humor.

c) can really hold my liquor.

We'll see if the setup happens. Either way, I'm looking forward to getting back out there now that baseball season is over and the summer is approaching. I keep thinking that who I was 18 months ago is a snapshot and it would be the snapshot of who I would want to be remembered by if I were to die tonight, but me, today, has a hard time getting back to that snapshot. Hell, I'm having hard time even finding it. Every time I thumb through photo albums and think I'm getting close, I end up finding only what I don't want to find instead of what I do. I still feel like I'm getting close, though. And I'm going to keep on looking.

I get observed this week, and, while I'm not nervous, it puts soem more pressure on this week of teaching. I need that pressure, because I feel like I've gotten a little lazy lately. Not lazy with life, but everything else has been juggled so strenuously that I forget about teaching sometimes.

I'm seeing Danielle and Dave tomorrow night in DC. I think they're officially the last two friends I have still from high school.