Tuesday, May. 11, 2004

Shirts vs. skins and hot Asian college students and fat dogs, posted at 10:53 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, our opponent (who we beat 6-2 in a great game last time we played them) couldn't field a team and we won by forfeit. That makes us 5-7. Last game of the season is tomorrow night. The guys were disappointed that the other team didn't show, but we ended up playing a shirts vs. skins pickup game that ended up being a lot of fun. Lots of jokes about white people sunburning and black people not. One kid decided to do an impression of me the whole game while he coached one of the two teams. That was pretty funny.

The team is hilarious. One kid does nicknames for everyone. Here are some of them: Mumbles, Pasty, Satchel, Darkness, Mullet, Long Toes ("L.T."), CP ("Creative Player"). I'm now in my last week of the season (last regular season game tomorrow, and then playoffs), and I'll miss these kids. I'm really looking forward to seeing the 9th graders (I've got a great nucleus, consisting of Mumbles, Darkness, Long Toes, and Pasty) develop over the next four years. I'm already figuring out next year's lineup and rubbing my hands together in anticipation of the return of the kid who was ineligible this year (for good reason - his mom died and his grades dropped) as well as new ninth graders and at least one 10th grader who I heard was a sweet player but didn't try out. The team will become more and more mine as each year goes by.

I guess this sounds like a guy who has decided to stay in Baltimore. Hmmm. Maybe. Tomorrow there is a very intriguing and worrying meeting after school with the CE*O of city schools about "job security." I can't make the meeting with my ballgame, but it should be interesting. No one knows what it's about or why she's coming to our school, but there are crazy rumors about being taken over by a foundation and everyone having to reapply for our jobs.

Today was a good day. Got my laundry done, again contemplating what a privelage it would be to be able to do laundry in my own home, something I haven't been able to do since I lived with my parents. For going on ten years, I've been going to laundromats. The thing is, I don't want to buy a washer and drier and have to move them whenever I buy a house. But, what if the house is this house? The landlord has called me and asked me if I wanted to buy it. It needs a lot of work, and I'm totally willing to do some work, but I'd definitely be more excited about a new house to do the work in. I don't know. It's going to take some figuring. I'd probably get a good deal and it would eliminate stuff like moving costs and packing time. Also, it might be ideal because the upstairs is a whole separate place, and I could have someone live up there and pay rent, which I could figure out to be my mortgage or almost my mortgage. It's worth thinking about, even though a big part of me would rather live in a cooler area of the city, Fed Hill or Canton or Fell's, rather than out here in Lauraville/Hamilton. But then I think that's sort of silly. I have a yard and it's safe and the mayor is my neighbor. Do I really need to be able to walk to bars? I am, after all, going to be 27 at the end of the summer. But, I'm also single without any prospects in a while, and even though I think I'm a good guy with a good job who wants to be married by around the time I'm 30 and have kids and all the rest of it (something, I think, some women desire), my stupid schedule pretty much eliminates chances of meeting people, and living out here in the suburbia area of the city doesn't help.

Sort of speaking of which, my long forgotten americansingles profile just got a nibble from a 19-year old Asian Goucher student. I'm not sure how that happened. Probably a mistake. Although she did say I look like Woody Harrelson, which I've gotten before but don't really agree with, though I wouldn't mind it too much, because I wish I could pull off the bald head look, as I'm afraid I might be doing that look within the decade involuntarily. I can also imagine myself with a girl like Grace on that sitcom because that was the year that the show was the best, when she was with Woody Harrelson and not Harry Connick, Jr, who can't act his way out of a paper sack.

I watched the Friends finale, but that's the only time my TV has been on in the last two months. My, how I've changed. I would have liked to have watched 24 tonight, but have decided that I've missed too much of the season, and will rent the whole season on DVD later. I went for a long run with Holden instead, nearly killing my poor overweight dog. It's pretty sad that I'm in such better shape than my dog, especially when I don't feel like I'm in great shape right now. He's barely moved since we returned. I've got the whip him into shape or he's not going to make it much past double digits in age. The stress of the trial had been really weighing on him and he packed on the extra pounds, but now that that's over, we can move on.