Tuesday, May. 11, 2004

Too hot for school?, posted at 1:06 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

City schools have dismissed early today on account of the heat. You'd think I'd be happy about it, but I'm not. First off, I don't think it's very hot and it's wimpy to close schools. We went to school with much higher temperatures during the early summer in Michigan. Secondly, time is precious with these kids as the year comes to a close, and now I'm a day behind in one of my classes. Thirdly, I have a kick-ass lesson planned today, with five stations and rotation and text-marking and motif-drawing and poem explications and letters to the editor. It went great in the first two classes, and was cut off for the last period. I just think it sucks.

Apparently there's some rule that if it's 90 before 11am, then school is dismissed. I'm wearing a shirt and tie today, and am from Michigan, and I'm shocked that it hit 90 today. 80, maybe. But not 90. I'm not even hot.

I'm also pissed because my baseball game is still on, which means that even though school is over, I can't go home. My colleagues are all off to Rocky Run right now, but I get to coach a baseball game in an hour and a half or so. I'm actually kind of glad that we're still playing, because we've only gotten 11 games in, but a cold beer would hit the spot right now as well.

We lost both ends of a doubleheader against our big rival school yesterday. It was a bummer, but we were just overmatched. They're undefeated, and we're still a young team. I was happy to look out there on the field and note that of our starting lineup, 7 of the 9 were underclassmen. And it could have easily been 8. (I'm not quite sure who's going to play CF next year, so I can't say easily could have been 9.) Coaching has been very rewarding, and the amazing time consumption that it requires has been well worth it. The money's great too (if only because I'm doing only slightly more than I did the last two years for free, and making money to live off for the summer.)

Nothing much else to report. Had another frustrating weekend at the restaurant, because I didn't have any time to do anything. Again. Mother's Day Brunch was hellish and long, and I put in a 12-hour day there that day. I made some decent money, but it's just not worth it. If I decide to work two jobs next year - which I might, because I'll be saving for a house, and the extra money has been a nice stress reducer - I'll definitely call it quits during baseball season.