Sunday, Apr. 25, 2004

The world don't owe me nothing, posted at 2:42 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Spent the morning walking around the Inner Harbor and then Fell's Point with my grandparents. It's funny, but I never, ever go to the Inner Harbor. It's weird. Today, I left convinced I should go there more often. There were tons of new restaurants that I'd never seen before. I don't even remember what used to be in the building with the Barnes & Noble and ESPN Zone, but there seems to be a bunch of new stuff on the back end, and a lot of it looks fun. It's too bad parking sucks so much, but I still feel like I should go there more. I've never been to James Joyce Irish Pub either. And I freaking loved Portrait of an Artist! I should really hang out there more. It's not just for tourists! (Just mostly.)

Things I've never done in Baltimore that I want to: Ride the Ducks, visit the Babe Ruth Museum, see Poe's gravesite. I should really think of those next time I have folks visit.

Oh, look at that, I'm actually sounding like someone with a social life. That was the Epiphany of last year, not the one of this year. I can't believe how busy I am right now. Coaching, teaching, and waiting tables. It just seems so relentless.

Tonight was a long night. After G&G left, I worked from 4pm to 2am (please, please never let me be the type of person who sit oblivious in a restaurant a half hour after it closes, not caring that waitstaff want to get home instead of listening to you talk about John Edwards for an hour and a half for a $5 tip). I made good money tonight, but I'm now tired as hell and worried I will sleep tomorrow away when I really want to plant a vegetable garden, work out, and run some shopping errands.

I'm trying not to think about the fact that my trial is in ten days, that I have no lawyer and no money or resources to hire one, and a very bad man could win $10,000 from me and make the last year of my life a complete and total waste. I'm imagining myself going in there with posterboard and charts, but have no idea if that is even what I should be doing. I have no idea of the format, the rules, or anything. I am so frustrated and feeling like the world needs to come to my rescue because things just aren't right. If I have learned one thing in the last year, though, it's that the world don't owe me nothing. I've got to go it alone, something I've unfortunately become way too adept at.