Friday, Apr. 23, 2004

FIRST VICTORY!, posted at 10:10 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

We won our first game today. Wow, what a night. I'm still reeling from it all, from the emotion of seeing a little sophomore who throws a 50 mph fastball pitch five shutout innings, from seeing my guys eek out five runs out of a game in which the opposing pitcher struck out 15, of seeing little I___ C____ get two walks and score two runs with his amazing speed. What a neat kid - about to head off to the University of Miami to major in Mathematics. To those of you who thought B. City doesn't produce greatness, I. is a kid who will make a difference.

The kids dumped the whole cooler of water on my head after the game.

What an exciting night. We can play with any team in the city. I will buy tomorrow's newspaper, which will contain the boxscore of my first victory as coach. What a trip it was "calling in the score."

The one problem is that we won on the day that I decided, out of luck's sake, to eliminate the dress code policy of a shirt and tie for a game. The same thing happened this year with LaCrosse - as soon as the coach relented on the shirts and ties, the team won. So did we. I guess this means I can't go back to them, eh?

The grandparents are in town, en route from Florida to Michigan. Had dinner with them tonight in White Marsh. Still looking good despite grandpa's fall earlier this year. Tomorrow, it's off to ze mean bean for my discount, as well as The Book Thing and we'll go from there. I'm even a little bit drunk right now after the two beers I had with them over at Red Brick Station in White Marsh. I wasn't going to have two, but grandma ordered another glass of wine, so I figured, let's bring it on. Judging by the wait staff there, I should be hanging out there more. Wow.