Saturday, Feb. 07, 2004

A long day and now another Saturday night and I ain't got nobody, posted at 10:58 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Another update from the teacher-slash-waiter who no life except for work... It was a shockingly busy day for a Saturday at the restaurant. I couldn't pick up my scribbled up copy of To Kill a Mockingbird even once. I did pass the triple digit mark for my 12-hour day, and it wasn't too bad. I had a 25-member running team in for breakfast, and they, well, ate exactly what you'd expect a running team to eat. Omelets without cheese. Extra fruit instead of hash browns. And certainly no bloody maries or mimosas. Oh, and this was this one gentleman's version of "keeping it simple": a florentine omelet, except no cheese, and make it with egg beaters, and no toast or potatoes, but substitute a bagel with cream cheese for the toast, and put some extra fruit on it. I was a little bit crabby to begin with because of stuff like that, but eventually snapped out of it and enjoyed myself. I really enjoy my co-workers.

Since I was working a double, my manager let me off for an hour for lunch. I went to John Stevens and had a shrimp quesadilla and some beverages. Let me tell you, I am an exceedingly charming waiter after I've had a couple Resurrection pale ales.

I was a little worried about the latter, because I ended up training someone and we got an unannounced 15-member party. I sobered up pretty quickly, and ended up having a decent night although I did make a $20 mistake that resulted in me losing a third of my tips. Shitty.

***

A few other things on my mind now:

1. I'm pretty excited about the Grammies tomorrow night.

2. I need to work out, badly. It's been a week. I think that's why I've been a little testy this week.

3. Well, that and the fact that my job is on the line.

4. Back aches.

5. Wesley Clark seems to be over. Too bad. I think he's a stronger candidate than Kerry, although I do like Kerry quite a bit.

Yawn.