Friday, Feb. 06, 2004

The Union decides..., posted at 11:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, we rejected it.

What a horrible day.

I voted for furloughs, along with 1500+ other teachers. But the majority voted for neither furloughs or a paycut.

People made the good point that she's going to do what she wants to do regardless, and that voting for furloughs or a paycut would not have guaranteed no layoffs. Now, we at least can go to court about it.

But I'm still scared as hell. Actively scared. Like, heart beating fast and constant headache scared. Like having nightmares most nights in which I go into work and they tell me to go home.

I like my kids too much to lose this job.

But, along with 1,199 other teachers, I'll probably lose it next week.

***

Voting was horrible. Talk about unorganized. Not that I should be surprised.

***

Worked at the restaurant after school. Made just over $50 for six hours of work or so. Someone tipped 14%. Another 15%. I can't believe people. I've had lower, but how does someone justify that in their head?

Am only halfway done with grades. So tired, no free time at all. Tomorrow I work 12 hours at the restaurant.