Monday, Dec. 15, 2003

Dean Presidency, posted at 2:00 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm distressed by all the endorsements that Howard Dean is getting. The man reminds me of a liberal George Bush, a man who engages in no reflections about what he's about to do. He's smarter than Bush, to be sure, but changes positions just as much based on the political winds. He comes into a room and checks the temperature, instead of changing the thermostat. And the anti-war thing is a pretty convenient position to have when you're not in the Senate.

I have a Wesley Clark bumper sticker on my car, and I'm mostly happy with him. It looks like his campaign might boil down to that asinine comment he made early on that he would have voted to invade Iraq. He later backpedaled on it, but the damage was done. I still would much rather have General Clark in office right now than any of the other candidates, as his experience on foreign policy and his combination of intelligence and toughness seems to bode well for the presidency.

I also could get excited about a John Kerry presidency. He's smart and is a great speaker, and I love his history as a Viet Nam vet and then a war protester. He's done some done dumb things on his campaign, especially the vote to invade Iraq, but I have no idea why he's floundered as much as he has.

I wonder if Clark and Kerry are splitting the military vote? Or (ahem) the intelligence vote? I wonder... Dean doesn't have a chance at winning, so I hope things change soon. I assume the capture of Sadaam Hussein will deter the Dean campaign a bit, though I'm not sure.

***

No a whole lot is new otherwise. I worked an incredible amount over the weekend, and I'm scheduled for an incredible amount this week as well - 36 hours! After that, though, it's two week of pain-filled recovery over my holidays. Eight days until my surgery.