Thursday, Dec. 11, 2003

I'm glad it's Thursday, posted at 1:49 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This journal has become a place for quick updates only. Sorry about that.

On Tuesday, Rose and I went to the Catie Curtis show on the fly. I was so glad I went. Catie Curtis was alright (No "Radical" or "Falling Softly in the Dark," though), but the opener, Michelle Malone, was amazing. She was like a hurricane, a force of nature, exactly the type of performer I love - like she's singing to survive. A little bit of Sheryl Crow, a little bit of Joplin... it was amazing.

Last night was an amazing night at the second job. A table of 14 that all got appetizers and main courses and tons of drinks double tipped me, perhaps accidentally, and the tip I received was legendarily high. I felt a little guilty about it, but I was perfectly clear about the added gratuity, and it was a corporate account, so I think I'll be able to live with myself. I'm still a little giddy. I might actually be able to pay all my bills this month now!

I'm done teaching for the day, and it was an excellent day. I enjoy this journal so much more when things are going well.

My friend Bill tells me he's been searching for this journal all day online and is going crazy. I probably never should have mentioned that I have an online journal... I keep checking for google hits that might have come from him, although, luckily, I don't think he's been doing much searching for "Caroline Knapp" or "essay on Joe Turner's Come and Gone" down there.