Tuesday, Dec. 09, 2003

Drunk decorating, posted at 4:28 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The funny thing about living my life in such a busy fashion with such different identities in each of my responsibilities is that I basically enjoy my different responsibilities. It's the vastness of my workload that is so heinous, not the work I'm doing. I'm having a great time with teaching right now, being a hard ass in that good way where kids know that I have high standards and I expect them to be there by the end of the course. Not only do I expect them to be there, but I will be guiding them there. Many students are still failing, are not there yet, but if today's attendance at Coach Class (re: Office Hours) is any indication, they're ready to start working a little harder to get themselves to the level they need to be at.

As much as I complain about working two jobs - and I still long for a time when I won't have to - last night was pretty cool. We had a staff meeting, where we sampled items from the new menu. Then the owners broke out the wine and had us decorate the place with Christmas decorations. Their idea - and it worked - was to get us a bit drunk, so we wouldn't think about the fact that we were decorated late into the night on a Monday night. It worked. I enjoy the folks I work with, and it was good to have my first wine buzz since Italy.

I enjoy the restaurant quite a bit. It's a family place, and the owners are genuinely good people. It makes it slightly more tolerable that the schedule for the next week isn't available until Sunday night, I guess.

Tonight, I've decided to throw caution to the wind and am driving to Annapolis for a Catie Curtis concert, ignoring the tons of essays I have to grade because I long for one night without any real responsibility. Last day off was Thanksgiving, the last one before that was my surgery, and the next one will be, well, my next surgery.