Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2003

Tired, posted at 1:15 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Very busy lately, working both jobs at a furious pace, barely having time to breathe.

A few updates:

1. My health is deteroriating rapidly, and I'm not working out enough to keep up with the horrible foods I've been eating. I have to reassess my healthy lifestyle and how it fits in with working 100 hours a week while trying to get out of debt.

2. I have my first waitstaff meeting tonight, and have no idea how they're going to fill two hours talking about waiting tables. But it's a night out on the town, courtesy of the owners, so that should be fun. Got lectured last night for requesting too many nights off.

3. Contentment level is low. Need to rest.

4. I miss having someone to call to see if she has gotten the new Sinead O'Connor CD or seen any good shows lately.

5. Not much else is new. Life is dizzyingly busy, a flurry of unfocused miniature battles with the world as I struggle to get from one challenge to another. The plate is so full that it's running over. It's not a fun way to live. I'm tired and lonely.

6. Somehow, I don't think it all has affected my teaching. Yet, at least.

7. I'm uncharacteristically bitter right now about a myriad of things - the fact that I can't catch up on car payments and they keep calling, the fact that the advanced studies teachers get all this extra training right now and we lower level kids get denied funding to go to conferences, the fact that I set my alarm this morning for 4:45 pm instead of 4:45 am, the fact that my desk never seems to get clean, the fact that only 12 people came to my house concert with Andrew Kerr on Friday, etc - and these are things that I normally just let slide off my back, and I think the problem is I'm not letting my frustration out by pounding it hard at the gym, and I really need to get back into it, I've been so sporadic lately and I can't stand it.