Friday, Oct. 24, 2003

Weekend is here, posted at 3:38 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The last two days at school have been pretty good - I've formulated a new Socratic Discussion in which the outer circle has specific tasks (one student has to study body language, another has to police grammar, another records the questions that are asked, another analyzes female/male dynamics, etc) and it was both fun and useful. We would discuss the piece of writing (Barbara Huttman's essay "Crime of Compassion") for ten minutes, then allow the outer circle ten minutes for feedback.

Someone has quit at Ze Mean Bean, and they called and asked me to pick up extra shifts this weekend. I'm bummed out, because I was planning on having Sunday night off to recover from Noah's Ark Pub Crawl, but hopefully I'll make a lot of money. I'm so tired of being broke. I'm still behind on car payments and my cell phone is about to be turned off. It's taking me a long time to recover from the summer, and this is especially frustrating because it feels like I work all the time. In the two months since the school year started, I've been to the bar once. This weekend will be #2. So it's not that I'm going out too much. I just literally am that freaking broke. I hate it, and wish there was something I could do about it that makes me feel like it's going away.