Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2003

I hope your demons are gone now, Elliot, posted at 12:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Elliot Smith is dead.

Wow, what a huge bummer. He made Good Will Hunting one of the great movie soundtracks, ever, and I loved seeing him perform on the Oscars. I believe his was the same year that Celine Dion performed her crappy Titanic song, and his performance was so honest and amazing, especially next to hers. I saw him at Magic Stick shortly before "Miss Misery" broke, and he put on a great show. He was a great songwriter, very powerful.

By the way, it's tough for me to think of a worse way to commit suicide than stab yourself to death. Maybe dousing yourself in gasoline and burning to death is worse.

***

Things have been good today. I'm determined to catch up on my work before I leave school today. Tips last night were terrible. A guy with a $35.54 bill left a $4.46 tip. I wanted to chase him down and tackle him and call him a cheap bastard.