Monday, Jul. 21, 2003

Another brick in the wall, posted at 11:35 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

As if my life could not get any more stressful, I think I lost my driver's license, as well as my camera, my razor, and my eyeglasses. All of this stuff was in a backpack that I haven't seen since we dropped off the rental car. I've retraced my steps - meticulously - driven to airport and the rental car agency, asked Bill if he has any ideas, and just don't get it. There is no way I can afford to get another driver's license right now, so I'm just going to hope that I can find it in the next 36 hours before I set off for Michigan with only the change in my couch to get me there.

My department head informed me of a host of bad news today. I will be teaching ENG I again - 9th graders. I like 9th graders and wanted to teach them. But I'll be teaching just them, the same as I've done over the last 1.5 years. I wanted to mix it up a little bit, and specifically requested that. I'll also be teaching six classes at once, meaning I'll have 170 essays to grade at once. I cannot believe that's even happening. When the 6 A-B courseload went into effect, it was said that only volunteer teachers would get it. Welp, I didn't volunteer. I'm fuming.

I'll also be floating. I was expecting this, but I'm still not happy about it. With no classroom, I'll have to go in and out of other teachers' rooms during their planning periods. It'll mean more work and more organizational skills than I possess. It also means that the crazy woman - who is also then only other ENG I teacher - that sexually harrassed me last year will be spending way too much time with me. She volunteered to float, so she'll be in the same room as I am.

It will be a sad day when I take down all my bulletin boards. Very upsetting.

From most of its actions last year, the school sees me as an asset. I've raised kids' test scores, developed curriculums, done lots of extra stuff. But I feel like now my easygoing nature is making them take advantage of me. They won't have me around very long if they continue to treat me like crap. I've already got some thoughts of teaching in an international school in the next few years. The international bug has bitten me in a big way.

What the moves have done to me in the most part is make me unexcited about the upcoming school year.

My journal has taken a very pessimistic turn as of late. I really hope I make it through this summer without becoming a cynic.