Saturday, Jun. 21, 2003

Saturday Storms, posted at 11:46 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The rain is really getting to me. It's been a mediocre week with too many highs and lows. Every time it's quiet and I'm sitting to myself, I think of the firm grip that money - or the lack thereof - has on my life. I had to say goodbye to my students, and goodbye to colleagues. On the other hand, I'm excited about my trip. I'm just worried about getting there and not having any money. I'm very excited about next year. I get to teach English 9 and English 11, and be an official mentor to a new teacher. I really want to do a good job with the latter, because I think I was sort of a mediocre mentor this year, especially typified by the fact that she quit in May. She also had a miscarriage and other health problems, so I can't really take the blame, but I think she was stressed out. I need to learn the Brit-Lit curriculum this summer, and read The Island of Dr. Moreau (never read it), MacBeth (haven't read it since 10th grade), Frankenstein (haven't read this freshmen year of college), and Brave New World (never read it).

And I'm going to read Romeo & Juliet in Verona. How cool is that?

So we're thinking about heading down from Verona through Sienna to see the annual horse race on July 7, then down to Rome for a couple of days, then back up to Verona to see Aida. Any ideas about any of these places?