Sunday, Apr. 13, 2003

Sunday Night, posted at 10:57 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I hate to say this, but I've been disappointed with Six Feet Under so far this season. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I think the show has lost some of its humor. I liked David better repressed. I liked Nate better with Brenda. I don't like Lauren Ambrose with the kid. The show is still special and I look forward to it every week, but this season all feels like exposition to me so far - waiting for things to happen, and not much is. Often, I enjoy this about the show, that it's so much about real people that no big "event" has to happen for it to amaze. But today's episode, except for a few oceanside scenes that were intensely beautiful, was ho-hum. And this show is never ho-hum.

Boomtown, on the other hand, is incredible. Today's episode was one of the finest hours of television you'll ever hope to view. I've only watched about three episodes of that show, but have been overwhelmed every time I watch it. There is such good acting, and I love the point of view thing. Tonight's episode saw one of the lead character in a downward spiral, and there were no easy answers or pat endings. Another reason I like the show is that one of my students told me I look like Donnie Wahlberg, so I have his body frame as one of my workout goals in my mind now. The guy probably weighs 165, though, and I don't think I could ever get that low.

Last night was a blast. We didn't end up doing the "What's My Name" Pub Crawl, because Fell's Point was packed and we ended up getting a table at John Stevens and didn't want to risk losing it. I got drunk for the first time since the lighting of the Monument. I'm thinking back to the things I was talking about and it's just cracking me up. I remember someone made a disparaging remark about Rosie Perez's voice, so I went into a (what seemed like) 20-minute soliliquy defending her and talking about that scene in Fearless where she finds out she couldn't have held onto her son during the plane crash no matter how hard she tried and I was going on and on about it. I also called about ten people. I always knew who I was calling, and didn't do anything stupid like call my grandmother, but today when Erin returned my call, my initial reaction was, "Oh my gosh! Did I call her? Oh yeah! I did!" because I didn't remember until that point. I drank the perfect amount where I didn't do anything stupid like pass out or start making out with Renee, but where I knew I was well past the point of being able to drive. It was a swell time.

Tomorrow marks the official beginning of my spring break. I'm going to concentrate on accomplishing things every day of the break, because I have some idle thought marinating about driving up to Boston with Bill to see a Red Sox game on Thursday, and don't want to do it with work hanging over my head. I did a lot of yard work today, and I'm hoping the weather stays beautiful so I can continue to do the outdoor work that I need to do - namely, clean out my car. I also have a lot of papers to grade, want to go to the dentist, and complete some odd chores that I've been putting off for a while. I also plan on throwing in some reading (more than halfway done with Drift by Manuel Martinez, the one I was talking about earlier this week that reminded me of a Latino Holden Caulfield), some solo afternoon movie jaunts (want to see Anger Management and Phone Booth), lots of working out (beach season is almost here), and relaxing (it is my break, after all).

It will be a good week.