Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003

Funny stuff, posted at 8:03 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The funniest things that have happened in my classroom this week:

1. So we're studying foreshadowing in Of Mice and Men, and we were talking about how the fact that the story begins with George and Lennie getting run out of their previous town was an example of it. So, I write on the board the following: "Lennie run out of Weed." (Weed is the name of the town.) All the kids sort of looked at it, and it seemed to click with them all at once. Poor Lennie, run out of weed, that does suck. And me, and I had to bite my cheeks to keep from laughing. Finally, one boy said, "Man, I could hook him up with my boy down on Edmondson Avenue." I walked right into it.

2. I told the students the mnemonic device I use to remember that when talking about the actual capitol building, the word "capitol" is spelled with an "O" (instead of "capital," which refers to the letters or the actual seat of government). Are you ready for it? Here it is, my mnemoic device for remembering this spelling fact: "Oh! It's a building!". The kids were laughing and calling me corny.

3. This one girl who loves Nelly and calls him her husband was talking about the Grammies, and I asked her, "So, what's up with that band-aid on his face (he didn't wear it at the Grammies). Did his face heal or something?" This was probably more amusing for me than anyone else, but I still thought it was funny.

I sincerely enjoy my job.