Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003

A little stressed, but that's okay because I'm alive and today was the first spring training game, posted at 7:13 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I feel like a shithead, because yesterday an administrative colleague and I were chatting about forming a 9th grade team next year, and she asked about my buddy Nick the math teacher. I know that Nick is moving on to bigger things next year, and thought he had told enough people (including his department head) so that it was considered public knowledge. I told her that I didn't think he was coming back. Well, this woman is a blabbermouth, and apparently she went straight to the department head and told her, and she went to Nick and asked him about it. Apparently it was a "thinking about leaving" conversation about leaving conversation with her, and a "I'm definitely leaving" conversation with us.

Anyhow, Nick came to my room today and, while he didn't seem angry, I felt bad about telling. Shitty, in fact. Big apologies, that kind of thing. I didn't think about it before I opened my mouth that he might not want others to know. Hopefully it'll blow over; I did offer a genuine apology. I just hate upsetting my friends.

***

It's going to be a hell of a busy time in the next week. Erin and Gale are both coming up for next weekend, and my new roommate is moving in on Wednesday. I have a house concert with her on Friday. The house needs to be cleaned and reconfigured over the next four days, and I'm going to be very busy doing it. All the middle room furniture will be heaved downstairs in the basement, while everything else will need to be scrubbed. On top of it all, I've got to figure out something to cook for Friday, and get ready for baseball practice starting Monday, seeing him in concert that night in Annapolis, having a possibly stressful meeting with my principal on Tuesday (because every meeting with him is possibly stressful, as I might say something stupid), and the arrival of a new roommate with a moving truck full of furniture on Wednesday. And that's not to mention the stack of essays I have to record comments on over the weekend; otherwise, it's almost as if my students will be getting them back too late.

And I feel fat.