Friday, Feb. 28, 2003

There goes the neighborhood, posted at 7:17 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Often, I am shocked and intrigued at the difference in cultures between I and my students.

It's an age thing, a little. I'm still shocked that many of my students were born in 1988.

It's also a region thing, a little. They call it "soda" and "oodles and noodles" instead of "pop and "Ramen noodles."

It's a bit of city thing, too. I grew up in the country, and Baltimore is by far the largest city I've ever lived in. Most of my students have never been camping or milked a cow.

It's something of a race thing, too. Their knowledge of hip-hop is much greater than mine and many speak casually in African American vernacular english.

I find all of these differences very interesting and wouldn't want it any other way.

But, regardless of our cultural differences, all of my students were saddened yesterday about the death of Mr. Fred Rogers. They didn't call him wimpy. There's nothing wimpy about kindness and understanding. Just think about how many people you know, who DON'T recognize the name "Mr. Rogers". I bet you can't find one. That's some real influence. And he used it all for good. He never pushed politics or religion on his audience. All he did was try to make each audience member learn, feel good about him/herself and others, and foster understanding between people.

Rest in peace, Mr. Rogers. You lived a full, wonderful life that had a profound influence on millions of people.