Sunday, Feb. 16, 2003

If there's a snow day on a non-school day, is it really a snow day?, posted at 11:37 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

All weekend, the forecasters have been telling the city that something big was coming. But Friday's 4-8 inches turned out to be two or three, and much of it melted down pretty quickly. So I scoffed at the reports of the big storm coming on Sunday, thinking that the forecasters were falling into hyperbole and nothing really would happen.

I was wrong.

I woke up this morning to at least nine inches already outside, and reports on the news that we're only a third of the way through the storm. My street is a snow route, and I had to move my car. I couldn't barely get it out, and now I'm stuck in front of someone's driveway on a side street. My roommate is out buying a shovel - almost made it through the winter without one, I tell ya - and otherwise, it looks as if I'm stranded inside for a day or so.

Unbelievable. I feel like I'm back home in Michigan. I'm ready for spring.