Sunday, Feb. 16, 2003

Historic snow fall, posted at 10:55 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This snow is unbelievable and relentless. It has snowed anywhere from 17 to 22 inches today (depending on what channel and area) on top of the four we already had, so we are basically holed up in the house for a while. Airports are closed. The governor has declared a state of emergency, barring all non-emergency vehicles from travel on the roads.

It is so surreal. The local news channels ran all-day coverage of the snow. (Come on, people, there are only so many people you can interview about how they're coping with the weather. I really wanted to watch Tim Russert's show this morning.) I had to move the car off the street because mine is a snow emergency route. I got stuck three times doing it. The snow continues to fall, and I can barely see the grill in the backyard or our picnic table on the front porch. We took our dogs out to play, and the white stuff is nearly over Holden's head.

With the snow continuing through the night and into tomorrow, I see no possibility of having school on Tuesday. As of now, my car is so deeply packed in that only a significant melt will allow me to travel anywhere. This is completely insane.

My mind was just getting into the spring mindset, too, as pitchers and catchers reported to spring training on Thursday. That is always my unofficial first day of spring. Mother Nature is reminding me otherwise.