Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003

house concert goes well, posted at 10:41 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The house concert last night was a big success. I got the house cleaned, after hours of procrastinating and dilly-dallying. We had a good crowd of around 20 or so, and everyone seemed to have a great time.

David turned out to be an incredibly nice guy, someone who, along with his charming fiance, hung out and mingled with the crowd before and after the show. He was laid back, funny, and his music was good. Maybe I'll have him back next year. As it is, it looks like I'm all booked up for the rest of the spring season, with Sam Shaber (March 7), Jen Chapin (March 29), Ellen Rosner (May 13), and Doria Roberts (May 30) rounding out the last four months of the 2002-2003 Holden's Lair House Concert Series season. Mark your calendars now. :)

I made vegetarian chili that turned out to be a hit, and drank a lot of Michelob Ultra Lights. I got up in the intermission to give a few announcements, and that went fine, but when I got up at the end of the show, I felt my voice wavering a little bit and felt a bit goofy. Apparently it was noticeable as well, as Boston Betty came over and made fun of me.

I had three friends from college (actually, one of them was a friend from middle school who I met up again with when I was student teaching, and he's got two housemates that I've met through him) drive up from DC for the show, and we decided to head out to Fell's Point after the house concert. Fell's is such a college-aged area, and I feel old when I head out there. But since we left at midnight and it was less than ten degrees out, it wasn't exactly hopping. We stayed until the bar kicked everyone out at 1:46, then we walked over to Renee's, had a shot of whiskey with Mike, and took a cab home before we passed out. I'm feeling okay today; I drank a lot, but didn't overdo it. I've already had my beer shit this morning and am hydrated, so I can spend the next hour or so cleaning up the house concert mess and then figure out something else to do on this day two of a three-day weekend.