Friday, Jan. 17, 2003

I'm tired of all my money disappearing up your nose, posted at 8:20 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's official. Today I bought paper to copy with at school. It's not unusual for me to spend money on classroom stuff, but buying paper seems like a line that I just shouldn't have to cross. I am definitely going to claim the maximum for job expenses this year on my taxes, if I can figure out how to. I've only done E-Z forms before, but hopefully I'll be able to figure out non-E-Z ones because I feel like I'll get more money back then.

My urge right now is to complain, but in reflecting back on my day, there isn't much reason to. I guess I'm just tired, as it was a long one. I woke up to find that school was delayed because of the snow, and found that everyone was in such a good mood at school today. Boston Betty walked in beaming, saying, "Isn't it just so civil to be able to start teaching at 10am?". This, coupled with my high off of last night's life-affirming concert, had me floating on cloud nine all day.

The kids were so nice today, too. I had a great activity for them, this flow-from-station-to-station deal for finishing off Their Eyes Were Watching God that worked great. Every station had a different item at it to do, whether it was tracing on a map Janie's route or listening to a Billie Holiday song and comparing its theme and tone to the novel. I was so pleased with how it turned out, and the kids were so into it. Add in a thrilling conversation in the teachers lounge and an invite to my first ever anti-war protest tomorrow, and this was a damn fine day.

I've now got to clean my house and get ready for my house concert tomorrow. Wish me luck. I think it'll be fine.