2001-12-25

Twas the night before Christmas, posted at 12:19 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Reader's Digest version of the weekend so far:

On Sunday, my sister and I left at 8:30am, three and a half hours after the time I had planned to. The trip was initially to go and visit my paternal grandmother in her assisted living facility in Redford, but extended far beyond that - to dropping off the bike stroller to Jake's parents in Addison, and to visiting two separate aunts in the Lansing area.

The visits were good. Jake's parents gave me a bag full of christmas cookies. Grandma is alarmingly forgetful, but seems genuinely happy - she's like a five-year old child. She enjoyed our visit, and our trip to visit Grandpa's grave. Aunt Kathy was really nice, as was Victoria. Aunt Tonja was horrifyingly drugged up and Heidi is considering an intervention. We made it back at 2:30 am.

Today has been a lazy day. I slept in until around ten and then sat around for a couple of hours. Heidi and I ran a few errands (including a last minute trip to Wal-Mart, which has changed dramatically since it came into our town about ten years ago), suffered a bit of gift-giver's anxiety, and bought more stuff that we really couldn't afford for our parents. Mom and dad have friends over tonight, and they're still here despite it being nearly 12:30am. I've spent most of the evening reading The Corrections. It continues to be fabulous.

I'm looking forward to the morning and the gift exchange. It'll be swell.

Merry Christmas!