2001-12-14

Sprained ankle - back at school, posted at 8:23 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm back at school today, after taking a day off from work with my severely sprained ankle. Now that we're done with the book, I'm showing the Disney version of Huck Finn starring Elijah Wood today, because there's not a whole lot better to do today on a Friday when I haven't planned well. My freshmen have a test over Their Eyes Were Watching God, so that'll be an easy day in there.

My ankle hurts. It's grotesquely swollen and beginning to turn black and blue, I can't put any weight on it, and I can't turn it side to side at all. I'm on crutches, which I hate. I took the day off yesterday, and ended up sleeping most of the day away because it's nearly impossible to do anything else. I woke up at 7am to call the school, fell in the dark and let out a pained scream, then slept until 10:30 or so, woke up to watch the bin Laden tape at 11am, then slept again between noon and 3pm. It's frustrating - I don't make a good patient at all. I hate being waited upon, but there's no way around it. The house is ridiculously messy because I can't bend down and clean things up. I won't be going on any dates in the next week or so. Things I took for granted before - walking from the living room to the kitchen, going to the bathroom, taking a shower - are now physically daunting tasks requiring amazing agility and strength. I had only gone running about twice in the last week before I got hurt, but now I wish more than anything that I could go out and do it.

Luckily, it's my left ankle that is hurt, and I can still drive. I'm going to start to put some weight on it probably tomorrow, because I think it'll heal more quickly if I do. I don't know much about sprained ankles - heck, I don't even know what it is biologically - but I have heard from someone I trust that putting weight on it on the third day will lead to a swifter recovery.