2001-11-28

The state is coming, posted at 8:13 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am so tired.

I've been extremely lazy this week with working out, and I think that's why. I think I'm in a bit of a funk.

Yawn.

Tonight, I'm heading to the MSU/UVA game in Richmond, which will be at least a couple of hours away. Jason and I are going with Apryl, Mike, and Jessica. It should be fun, but I can't quite believe it's on a school night. I'm exhausted as it is, and tomorrow will only be worse. Plus, I have little or no desire for another highway road trip, after the 31-hour debacle over the weekend. I'm all about being a Spartan, but the sad truth is that I've never been to a MSU basketball game. It's like I'm holding onto my college days by grasping onto things I never held onto, even when I was there.

Maybe it'll be better than I think. Maybe I'm just grouchy because I made myself a whole pot of coffee before I left for work this morning, but forgot to drink any of it in the rushed flurry before I left. Ugh.

"The state" is coming into our classrooms today to check on things, like if we are directly drawing lines in our lessons between the materials and the state goals for English, or if we are following along with the state-sponsored rubrics. No one is happy about it. The principal printed up a bunch of posters to put on the walls yesterday afternoon, that make it seem like we've been doing everything right all along. I'm also supposed to have my lesson plan written out in a very particular way. It's so, so stupid. One of the teachers commented that it was like Big Brother were coming today. Hopefully they don't stay very long in my room. Apparently, last year they sent only three evaluators, and they had to see 80 classrooms. That doesn't add up to much time for each classroom. But then again, they could come with a small army today.

I hate being watched while I teach.

And I'm exhausted.