2001-11-29

The MSU/UVA game, posted at 8:10 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

We went to the MSU/UVA game in Richmond, VA last night. Richmond, one of the cities that I thought about moving to, is only 2.5 hours away. (I can't believe how close everything is on the east coast. Back in Michigan, it took ten hours or so to get from the southern lower peninsula to the upper peninsula. Down here, that's a trip all the way from Maryland to Michigan.)

Jason and I went with Mike and his roommate, along with my old friend Apryl. I thought Jessica was going, and was surprised when she wasn't there. It's been a while.

The game was fun, despite the cramped drive from DC in the back of Mike's cramped car. The Spartans played well in the first half, and then a bizaare thing happened in the second half - the game was postponed because they couldn't get the floor dry. People were booing and everything, but I didn't mind. It meant getting home earlier and being able to repeat the game later on in the year. Who knows, it might even be rescheduled to take place on a weekend, which would be much more convenient. Jason and I returned to our house at around midnight, so the trip wasn't quite as late as I thought it would be.

I'm still feeling like I'm in something of a funk, so I hope the weekend will bring a bit of change of pace. I'm really in the mood to go to the movies, but it seems like all the movies I've been wanting to see have passed me by a bit. I really want to see Harry Potter, but Jason has seen it, and because I still don't really have any friends here yet, that may mean I'll have to see it alone. I'm game, though. There's a bunch of movies I'm excited about - particularly Ocean 11 and Lord of the Rings, but they're not out yet. I wonder if Spy Game is out yet? I also have been reading some reviews of some independent films that look really good, like In the Bedroom, which means I'll have to figure out where the Charles Street Theater is.

I'm also hoping Jason will call his high school friend Nick, if only for the fact that it will be fun to go out with different folks than usual. I am in sort of the mood to go and check out some different bar areas in the city.

You know what the problem is with thinking about the weekend on Thursday morning? You still have all of Thursday and all of Friday to get through before it gets here...

I need to get a life.