2001-11-27

It's a ringing in my ears, posted at 8:03 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My mood is wavering between odd and surly.

Last night, I had great plans to run for an hour, getting back into shape again after taking the last five days or so off, with the travel and driving and all. It didn't happen. I stayed at school working on stuff until 5:30, went grocery shopping on the way home, and got home at around 7. I ate dinner, then sat around and watched TV all night - still with the plan to run at 10pm after Ally McBeal. It didn't happen. Ugh.

I'm also pretty broke. I'm regretting the decision to start my 401B next paycheck, because I need every last cent of it. Bills have been piling up, and we've been neglecting them. We finally opened up a phone bill last night, and were shocked to learn our phone would be turned off tomorrow if we don't pay our bill. Oops. Cable is also pretty late. Utilities are unbelievably expensive around here. It's a good thing our rent is cheap. Last night, I also made the decision that I would drop out of the phone deal and get a cell phone to call from. It won't happen for a couple of months because I don't want to screw over my roommates, but the rates are absolutely ridiculous - we pay nearly $70/month on the setup, taxes, and local phonecalls alone. Since I use the phone the least out of the three roommates, it bugs the hell out of me to be paying that much. It's not like anyone ever calls me, anyway.

Mondays have turned into a pretty good TV night. Boston Public continues to be a maddening viewing experience - it is an interesting and entertaining show, but is way too over the top and doesn't provide drama as rich as if they actually wrote about the things that do happen in high schools. We still like the show, though. We both look at Anthony Heald's character and him not having "relations" with a woman in nine years, and hope we don't turn out like him. I'm finding Kathy Baker's character delightfully repulsive (I still love the actress from her Picket Fences days), and Loretta Devine is terrific. It's not nearly as good as it could be, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't look forward to it every week.

But I love Ally McBeal - it's as fresh right now as it was its first season. The new cast works so well with the show, particularly the new girl and the two new young guys. Jason always uses Ally as a means to psychoanalyze me, and his creativity amuses me to no end - despite the fact that I feign annoyance with it. Usually, he compares me with other characters, like John Cage and his storyline earlier this year, but last night it was with Ally herself - the fact that she is looking for practicality in relationships, that she has hangups that prevent her from finding love, etc. The show is just clicking right now, in ways that I think even surpass Robert Downey's turn on it last year. We even joked that the reason we both like the show so much this year is the fact that we're single and lonely and living in a big city - just like every character on the show.

There are other issues creeping around in my head right now. Actually, they're not just creeping around - it's more like they're pounding right now, and the din is becoming unbearable. But public proclamations aren't really the answer. I've started yet another diary on the site with a location and password I may offer up to those interested in the upcoming days.