2001-10-03

Name game, posted at 6:27 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

this is a very tough decision. the name thing.

he was such a good dog today. i left him loose in the house, and i came back expecting to find stuff chewed up and a big pile of shit on the floor. neither. i returned, and he was calmly asleep on the floor. what a good dog.

I need to figure out a good name, though. After today - when I had my classes vote on a name - I was sure it was going to be Bailey. But, I returned to the computer tonight and I have messages in my guestbook saying that "Bailey" is too feminine and common. (Subsequent research revealed that "Bailey" is the 4th most common male dog name in the U.S. - ugh!).

Then,Hugasoul had the intriguing idea of Holden, after, of course, Holden Caulfield in "The Catcher in the Rye". Here is her reasoning: "my favorite name (and you should see this coming) is holden. named after holden caufield. i think that is appropriate for a dog that comes from a shelter to be named holden because they are just looking for love and that one connection to a human being. they also are bit hardened and saddened by rejection, but still open to love. overall, i think its a great dog name. tell me what you think."

Hmmm... the title character from one of my favorite books. Why didn't I think of that? And I think it's sound reasoning. But is it cliched?

Gosh, if I had got a girl dog, it would have been so easy. It was going to be Zora. Now I don't know.

We will see. Thanks everyone for voting in the quizlet, and keep on doing it!