2001-09-18

Buried in paperwork, posted at 8:25 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I feel like I'm so behind on everything. After school yesterday, and the disappointing departmental meeting afterwards, I went home and immediately started grading papers. After three straight hours of it, I couldn't see straight. I quit. And I'm not even close to being done. I'm giving a test to my sophomores tomorrow, and really want them to be able to have their stuff back to study. But they won't, or at least not all of it. Oh well. I'll prepare them well. As soon as I figure out what's going to be on the test.

After grading papers, I settled down for about an hour of good old-fashioned television. It was so nice to sink back into the world of "Everybody Loves Raymond" and "Who Wants to be a Millionaire?," without (much) fear of news break-ins to tell us more about the tragedy. While more interruptions are inevitable, it was nice to have some semblence of moving on last night. I am excited about the season premiere of "The West Wing," so I can again see the world as full of hope and optimism. I am encouraged about the way that the country has come together and responded to the attacks, but hate the call for blood and revenge that seems to be ringing through the air. So it was nice not to have the entire evening devoted to thoughts about the tragedy and impending war. I wonder what the next few weeks will bring. I think Bush is doing a good job of waiting and deciding what to do - let's hope his next move is a good one. At least it was deliberated upon.

Jason is doing better. He went to his principal, and they moved around his schedule so he has all math classes. I don't think he was expecting it, and was hoping to change schools rather than fix the situation he was in. He's not as happy as I think he was hoping to be, but at least now he has something less to complain about.

I can't believe it's only Tuesday. I have to do laundry tonight, and tomorrow is Parents' Night at school, so that will be another night where not much will get done.

Ugh.