2001-09-17

The weekend, posted at 8:42 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The weekend was okay.

Jason and I went out on Friday night for dinner to Chili's restaurant. While it's a bit depressing that we have explored Baltimore so little that we have to go to a chain restaurant at a mall area to escape from the monotony of our home life, it was still damn good. Mike went home this weekend, so it was just the two of us.

I had made some plans to go out with another teacher on Friday night, so after dinner at Chili's, we went back to our place and waited for him to call. He eventually did call, but the plans fell through; the folks he was waiting for didn't arrive until midnight. By that time, Jason and I were both in bed. We're getting so old.

Bart and Lashonia came up on Saturday, with their dog Goose. We ended up going to the inner harbor area, and it was pretty fun. But it was another early night for us.

The weekend went far too quickly. The past week has been emotionally grueling, and a break was needed, and the weekend just didn't provide it. Last night, we watched "Mrs. Doubtfire," as we were weary of all the news coverage.

Meanwhile, Jason found another snag in his curriculum, and it was the straw that broke the camel's back for him. He was near tears as he told me he was thinking about quitting and was going to try to change schools. He hates science, has no background in it, and is getting very poor leadership at his school. Still, I tried telling him that the year is only two weeks old, and one of those weeks was spent in shock after the greatest tragedy of our lives took place. He's not happy, he says. He's never felt this way, he says. But I argue that there are lots of other variables that are in the world right now, not just the hornet's nest of a situation he was placed in. I hope that when he comes to his department head and principal today, they will instill some sort of confidence in him. I've never seen the guy like this.

I spent a lot of money over the weekend. My first ever paycheck was awesome to get, and I celebrating by buying a number of pictures for our walls, a vaccuum cleaner, and some other stuff. I got a Dali print ("Swans Reflecting Into Elephants") as well as "Dogs Playing Poker" for our walls. The guy at the shop joked that I'd be shot by a few art critics for that combination, but they both look good. They're framed and mounted. There's still a lot of wall space to cover, but the house is starting to look like a home.

I also sliced open my foot pretty bad over the weekend, after stepping on a metal chair in the basement. It hurts like hell. If I had health insurance, I would go to the hospital and get it sewn up. But I don't until Oct. 1, so it's just healing on its own. It certainly has cramped my workout schedule. I can't run, obviously. I lifted weights this morning, but won't be able to play basketball tomorrow. I've lost 14 pounds since I moved (or at least since the last time I worked out at Gold's Gym in East Lansing), so I hope this doesn't end my weight loss.

I am so sick of going home every night and falling into a glazed sense of depression after watching the news. Hopefully things will get better soon.