2001-09-11

A State of Shock, posted at 12:01 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Wow, 2nd entry of the day. My intense state of shock right now necessitates it.

School was just cancelled as of a couple minutes after noon today. The governor of Maryland has declared a state of emergency. Staff still doesn't get to go home until the normal 3:15 time, which confuses and frustrates me, but I suppose I'd be just as confused and frustrated at home. Of course, the fact that I'm in one of the highest buildings in the city, and one of the biggest schools, concerns me a bit. It may be a castle on the hill, but right now I wish it was a ranch in a valley. But even the most heinous terrorist wouldn't go after a school, would they? I wouldn't bet on it.

I e-mailed my parents to let them know I'm okay. I'm thinking most right now about Apryl, who is working right across the street from the Pentagon. She hasn't returned e-mails. I think she's okay, though.

The kids cheered when they found out they were getting out early. It is times like that I wonder if they have a fucking clue.

This is the Auden ("Mus�e des Beaux Arts") poem that I was going to read to my 5th hour, if we had it. I vividly remember having it read to me by Mr. DeRose in English class my senior year, the day after the Oklahoma bombing by Tim McVeigh.

About suffering they were never wrong
The Old Masters: how well they understood
Its human position; how it takes place
While someone else is eating or opening a window or
just walking dully along;

I wasn't walking dully along. I was writing a diaryland entry when this all happened.